Blueberry Pie

This blueberry pie features a lemon and lime infused crust, and is super simple to make. The first time I baked a pie, I was nervous. I followed a recipe step by step, and it took a LONG time. I had to roll out the pie dough, chill for an hour, and repeat that process almost four times. This recipe does not require that long process. My way is easy, and rewarding.

087

About a year ago or so, I became obsessed with baking pies. It took some practice to get the product I wanted, and it was so worth it. Now I’m a pro. I can’t quite remember how or why the craving to make pies began, but I’m glad it did.

With trail and error, I came up with a simple yet beautiful pie crust recipe. It’s extremely versatile – you can use it for sweet or savory pies.

I used to hate pie. I hated warm, cooked fruit. I would only eat the crust.. but now I love pie. I’ll eat the whole slice (or slices), fruit and all. It’s really such a beautiful thing; to eat warm, cooked fruit, baked in a buttery flaky crust.

I once made a HUGE chicken pot pie with this crust recipe, and added cheddar cheese into the crust. It was the most delicious chicken pot pie I’ve ever eaten.

088

I don’t know about you, but I don’t like the inside of my pies runny and juicy. I like them sort of thick, with a little juice from the cooked fruit. When they’re super runny the slices tend to fall apart –  that’s a big no no for me.

I tend to roll out my crust on the thicker side, especially on the bottom crust. That’s just me, I love pie crust. It’s one of my favorite things.

165

This was my first ever attempt at a lattice pie crust – and I definitely nailed it. Want to know my secret? I youtubed it. When you find a decent video, you really can’t fail. Just study the method for a bit, and have the video handy as you make your lattice crust.

The thing I love about this crust recipe is that it’s really easy to work with. I’ve made so many different designs with it: lattice, braids, leaves, flowers, etc.

The one thing you’ll need is a food processor –  I suppose you could do it by hand, though I never have. Maybe I’ll try it that way soon and test it out for you guys.

164

I remember making this pie on a whim – my mom was having her sisters and my cousins over for dinner. I can’t quite remember the occasion, but my aunt Kathy was there all the way from Tennessee and I knew I had to make a beautiful pie for dessert. They absolutely adored it.

I even got a few comments along the lines of, “This is the best pie I’ve ever had.”

So, I think it was a success!

Another amazing thing about this pie crust is that you can add so many different flavors in it. In this case, I zested lime and lemon in the dry ingredients before adding the butter. I’ve added cinnamon, lavender, honey,  cheddar cheese, and so many more. It’s really up to you and what flavors you want to make.

This a basic pie recipe, and you can add whatever fruit you’d like, fresh or frozen. Just omit the blueberries and add your favorite fruit instead!

410

I was in such a rush to get to dinner, that this is the only photo I have of the finished product.. what a beauty, right!? It was devoured very quickly, and I remember having two slices. Yum. Here’s the recipe. Make it, you need to eat this now.

Blueberry Pie

Prep time: about 25-30 minutes
Cook time: 45-60 minutes
Total time: approx 1 hour 30 minutes

This blueberry pie features a lemon and lime infused buttery & flaky crust. The crust recipe makes enough dough for a top and bottom crust.


 

Ingredients

For the crust:
2 1/4 cups all purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoon sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 lemon zested
1 lime zested
3 sticks cold butter, cubed
6-7 teaspoons ice water (or more)

1 egg, mixed with a few drops of water for the egg wash
Raw sugar for sprinkling

For the filling:
4-5 cups of fresh or frozen blueberries (or more if you’re making a big pie like I did – in that case, add a bit more flour and cornstarch)
1 cup of white sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 lemon zested
2 tablespoons of all purpose flour
3 tablespoons of corn starch


 

Firstly, make your pie crust. In the bowl of your food processor, add the flour, sugar and salt. Zest in your lemon and lime, and then pulse your machine a few times to mix it together.

Take your cold, cubed butter out of the fridge. Add it into your flour mixture, and pulse until the mixture resembles medium-sized crumbs, do not over mix.

Take your ice water, and add two teaspoons at a time, pulsing a few times in between. This could take however long, depending on your food processor. You want the crust to come together completely, so it sort of forms a dough ball. Don’t let the dough get too wet or sticky, only add the water until it comes together.

Do not over work it so it becomes sticky and soft. The dough should easily form into a ball, be smooth and easy to work with, and it should not be super sticky and wet.

Take the dough out of your processor, and place on a lightly floured surface. Pat down and form into a disc shape, cover with plastic wrap and place in the fridge for 30 minutes, until the dough is noticeably cold.

While the dough is chilling, make your filling.

In a medium-sized bowl, mix all of the filling ingredients together in the order they are listed. If you are using frozen fruit, place the bowl in the freezer while you roll out your pie dough.

Preheat your oven to 450 degrees, and place a cookie sheet on the middle rack. Get your 8 or 9 in pie pan ready – I believe mine was 10-12 inches, I used a big glass pyrex pan. When I use the big pan, I usually make 2 batches of dough because I like my crust nice and thick.

Take your pie dough from the fridge, and flour your work surface. Place unwrapped dough on your surface, and using your rolling pin, lightly hit the dough to flatten it out a bit. Cut into equal halves, for your bottom and top crust.

Roll out your bottom crust, (I like mine thick), into a circle about 2 inches larger than the pan you are using. Transfer the crust into your pie pan, making sure the crust is equal on all sides.

Add in your filling, and roll out the other piece of dough the same exact way. Place on top of your filling.

Now, if you’ve never made a pie before, you might want to YouTube how to finish the crust. What I do for regular pie crust: trim the edges of the crust with a knife, leaving the top a bit longer than the bottom. Now, fold the top crust edges under the bottom crust, and crimp the edges. You can use a fork, or use your fingers to crimp the edges.
Cut three or four small lines in the middle of your pie.

If you want to do a lattice crust, I would recommend googling how to do it.

Brush the crust with your egg wash, and sprinkle with raw sugar. Place in your oven on the hot cookie sheet and bake for 15 minutes at 450, then turn the oven down to 350 and bake for the remaining time.

This can vary. Mine usually take up to an hour, once you can hear the fruit juices bubbling, and it’s nicely browned, it usually means it’s ready. I like using the glass pyrex pans, so I can check the bottom and make sure it’s browned as well.

Let the pie cool completely before cutting a slice – I know it’s tempting, but seriously, wait. If you don’t, the pie won’t set correctly!

Enjoy!! Refrigerate when completely cooled and not devouring – I recommend eating it warm.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

